What Times Do Muslims Pray?

+6 votes
retagged by anonymous

1 Answer

+2 votes

Prayer(Salah) is one of the fundamental principles of Islam and Muslims observe five formal prayers each day. The timings of these prayers are spaced evenly throughout the day so as to remind one constantly of Allah(God) and give opportunities to seek His guidance and forgiveness. The times for the five Prayers are as follows:


1: Fajr at pre-dawn: This is an early morning prayer. The time of this prayer commences after the break of dawn and ends just before sunrise.

2: Zuhr in early afternoon: This prayer may be offered anytime after the sun begins to decline until it is about midway on its course to setting. For example, if the sun sets at 7:00 pm. The prayer time begins a little after 12:00 noon and continues until a little after 3:30 pm ish.

3: Asr in the late afternoon: From when the time of Zuhr Ends to before sunset.

4: Maghrib at sunset: The time of this prayer commences immediately after sunset and ends on the fading of twilight or the red afterglow.

5: Isha in early night: The time of this prayer begins after the fading of twilight till before dawn. However it is desirable to say this prayer before midnight.

reshown by
Welcome to Talk to Islam, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.